The deadline to file to seek elected office in Carter County is next Tuesday at 4 p.m.

As of Monday, the following candidates already had filed, according to the county clerk’s website:

Incumbent Judge-Executive Charles Wallace faces fellow Democrat and former magistrate Millard Cordle and Magistrate Brad Brammell, who currently serves in District 1, in the May primary race.

  Incumbent Republican County Attorney Patrick Flannery will be challenged by Democrat Brian K. Bayes.

  Incumbent Democratic Sheriff Casey Brammell faces fellow Democrats R.D. Porter, Keith Hill, and Donald Beller. Paul Meek is seeking the Republican nomination.

Incumbent Democrat PVA Charles L. Kiser Jr. withdrew his candidacy last Thursday when his daughter, Leslie J. Kiser, also a Democrat, filed to run for the office.

Incumbent Democrat County Clerk Mike D. Johnston remains unchallenged.

  Incumbent Coroner George Sparks will face fellow Democrat William Waddell.

Democrat Lester Bailey is seeking the jailer nomination while incumbent Republican R.W. Boggs has filed for the GOP spot.

  Democrat Lovell Carper has filed for the District 1 magistrate seat.

  In the race for magistrate in District 2, incumbent Clarence “Sonny” Fankell will face fellow Democrat James O. Wilburn. Wayne A. Terry will seek the Republican nod.

  Republican Larry E. Knipp and Democrat Mark Miller have filed to run for magistrate in District 3. Mary Ellen Greenhill currently holds the seat.

  Republican Nicholas Barker has filed for the District 4 magistrate position. Incumbent Clifford Roe will face fellow Democrats Bill Reynolds and Jeffrey D. Fite in that district.

Incumbent Magistrate Brandon Burton, the lone Republican serving on Fiscal Court, filed to run again in District 5.

Democrats Danny Davis and Robert Knipp and Republican Christopher Wilson filed for constable in District 2.

Democrat Johnny E. Gifford has filed for reelection as District 3 constable. Incumbent Democrat Phillip M. Blevins also is seeking reelection in the District 5 constable position.

  At the state level, Democrat Berry Webb of Webbville has filed to run for the 96th District House seat currently held by Rep. Jill York, R-Grayson. The position represents Carter and Lawrence Counties.

At press time, neither York nor Sen. Robin Webb, D-Grayson, had filed for reelection.

Webb represents the 18th Senatorial District, covering, Carter, Boyd, and Greenup counties.

Incumbents Circuit Judge Rebecca Phillips and Family Court Judge David D. Flatt have filed for re-election in the 37th Judicial Circuit which includes Carter, Morgan and Elliott counties.

Incumbent District Judge Rupert Wilhoit will face John Thompson, currently a practicing lawyer in Grayson. The District Court also covers Carter, Morgan and Elliott counties.

The primary election will take place on Tuesday, May 20.

Candidates running for mayor and City Council have until April 1 to file.

The sole candidate to file for the general election is Lisa Ramey-Easterling. She is running for the District 3 school board seat to which she was appointed last September.

Leeann Akers can be reached at or by telephone at 474-5101.

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you