Journal-Times (Grayson, KY)

March 13, 2013

East racks up EKC honors


March 13, 2013 — After the season ends, member schools of the Eastern Kentucky Conference come together for an annual banquet to recognize each team’s efforts throughout the season.

On Monday at the Lewis Caveland Lodge, each of the seven schools were honored including both East and West Carter.

The East Carter Lady Raiders, who won the EKC Conference, were presented with their trophy. Bryana Greenhill, Megan Stickler, Kelsey Stumbo, Kristen Mayo and Kerie Steele were all named to the girls All-EKC Team. Mayo was named Player of the Year in the EKC and Greenhill was named Defensive Player of the Year. Coach Hager Easterling was named Coach of the Year in the EKC.

East Carter finished the season with a 24-8 record and the EKC championship,

West Carter’s Brooke Callihan and Lexie Berry also were bestowed the honor of being on the girls All-EKC team. Callihan finished her career in a Lady Comet uniform averaging 12.7 points per game. Berry chipped in with 9.8 points and tied for a team best 5.8 rebounds a game.

For the boys, West Carter’s Kyle Brown and Dustin Black were named to the All-EKC boys team. Brown, who set 12 new school records for the Comets, including the scoring record rounded out his senior year averaging 23.1 points and 9.2 rebounds per game.

East Carter’s Kyle Stewart and Quinn Huddle were the only representatives for the Raiders on the all EKC Team.

Girls All-EKC Team:

East Carter:

Bryana Greenhill – Defensive Player of the Year

Kristen Mayo – Player of the Year

Kerie Steele

Kelsey Stumbo

Megan Stickler

West Carter:

Brooke Callihan

Lexie Berry

Fleming County:

Tierra Taylor

Martina Lytle

Rachel Boyd

Rowan County:

Candace Justice

Taylor Conn

Faith Conn


Hope Parsley

Arden Gross

Lewis County:

Savannah Anderson – Hop Brown Courage Award and Player of the Year

Taylor Frye

Emily Frye

Morgan County:

Cheyenna Furgeson

Hager Easterling – Coach of the Year


Boys All-EKC Team:

West Carter:

Kyle Brown

Dustin Black

East Carter:

Quinn Huddle

Kyle Steward

Fleming County:

Darion Burns

Troy Steward

Austin Crisp

Lewis County:

Brett Ruckel


Kyle Skaggs – Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year

Jacob Porter – Defensive Player of the Year

Lance Evans – Terrence Smith Courage Award

Googie Hayes

Rowan County:

Tyler Thacker

Matt Brown

Jalen Stone

Morgan County:

Jordan Perry

Jordan Whitt

Merle Kidwell – Coach of the Year