Journal-Times (Grayson, KY)

Local News

January 22, 2014

Six days left to file for county elections

Jan. 22, 2014 — The deadline to file to seek elected office in Carter County is next Tuesday at 4 p.m.

As of Monday, the following candidates already had filed, according to the county clerk’s website:

Incumbent Judge-Executive Charles Wallace faces fellow Democrat and former magistrate Millard Cordle and Magistrate Brad Brammell, who currently serves in District 1, in the May primary race.

  Incumbent Republican County Attorney Patrick Flannery will be challenged by Democrat Brian K. Bayes.

  Incumbent Democratic Sheriff Casey Brammell faces fellow Democrats R.D. Porter, Keith Hill, and Donald Beller. Paul Meek is seeking the Republican nomination.

Incumbent Democrat PVA Charles L. Kiser Jr. withdrew his candidacy last Thursday when his daughter, Leslie J. Kiser, also a Democrat, filed to run for the office.

Incumbent Democrat County Clerk Mike D. Johnston remains unchallenged.

  Incumbent Coroner George Sparks will face fellow Democrat William Waddell.

Democrat Lester Bailey is seeking the jailer nomination while incumbent Republican R.W. Boggs has filed for the GOP spot.

  Democrat Lovell Carper has filed for the District 1 magistrate seat.

  In the race for magistrate in District 2, incumbent Clarence “Sonny” Fankell will face fellow Democrat James O. Wilburn. Wayne A. Terry will seek the Republican nod.

  Republican Larry E. Knipp and Democrat Mark Miller have filed to run for magistrate in District 3. Mary Ellen Greenhill currently holds the seat.

  Republican Nicholas Barker has filed for the District 4 magistrate position. Incumbent Clifford Roe will face fellow Democrats Bill Reynolds and Jeffrey D. Fite in that district.

Incumbent Magistrate Brandon Burton, the lone Republican serving on Fiscal Court, filed to run again in District 5.

Democrats Danny Davis and Robert Knipp and Republican Christopher Wilson filed for constable in District 2.

Democrat Johnny E. Gifford has filed for reelection as District 3 constable. Incumbent Democrat Phillip M. Blevins also is seeking reelection in the District 5 constable position.

Text Only
Local News