Journal-Times (Grayson, KY)

February 19, 2014

KCU announces spring student teachers


Feb. 19, 2014 — Dr. Karen Ford, Dean of the Keeran School of Education at Kentucky Christian University, reports that six students are completing teaching requirements in local and regional school systems. The teacher candidates are working in collaboration with qualified full-time teachers in a Paired-Teaching Model over a course of fourteen weeks (70 days) to receive credit for this phase of their preparation program. Teacher candidates this spring are divided between elementary and middle grade educators.

West Carter Middle School is hosting Stephen Blackwell and Emily Hopkins. Mr. Blackwell is assigned to eighth grade science teacher, Mrs. Beverly McDavid, and then will spend the second session with Mrs. Kimberly Rayburn in seventh grade reading. Mrs. Hopkins will share her teaching experience with Mr. Kris Becker in sixth grade science and Ms. Younkin in sixth language arts.

Tanya Bowens, an elementary major, is beginning her experience at Prichard Elementary with Mrs. Brianna Adams. Her second placement will be with Mrs. Pam Duncan at Olive Hill Elementary. Ms. Kariann Martin will be hosted by Heritage Elementary and will divide her time between Mrs. Alisa Hall and Mrs. Brenda Barnhill. Ms. Whitney Artrip is scheduled at Summit Elementary in Ashland. Her supervising teachers are Mrs. Jennifer Miller and Mrs. Julie Edwards. Ms. Kelsie Fraley is placed at Russell-McDowell with Mrs. Melissa Clarke and then will finish her teaching experience with Mrs. LeaAnn Crager at Russell Primary.

The teacher candidates are excited about their field placements. They are just beginning the opportunity to work with their new colleagues in the educational community and with the new Paired-Teaching Model. They are looking forward to the beginning of their new professions.

KCU’s Keeran School of Education would like to thank principals Heather Aldrich (Russell-McDowell Intermediate), Cherri Keaton (Olive Hill Elementary), Jason McGlone (Prichard Elementary), Tamala Martin (Summit Elementary), J.C. Perkins (Heritage Elementary), Ryan Tomolonis (West Carter Middle School), and Pam Wright (Russell Primary) for their continued support and assistance in the placement and training of our teacher candidates.

For information on becoming a teacher or pursuing a degree in education, contact Dr. Karen Ford, Dean of the Keeran School of Education ( Visit the KCU website at for information.