Journal-Times (Grayson, KY)

May 1, 2013

ACTC Graduation set for May 11


May 1, 2013 — ACTC Graduation May 11

Ashland Community and Technical College will recognize a record number of 568 students at the Graduation Ceremony Saturday, May 11, at 10:00 a.m. in the Paramount Arts Center.

The students to be honored are August 2012 graduates, December 2012 graduates and May 2013 graduation candidates. Many have earned more than one degree, diploma or certificate, and more than 1650 credentials will be awarded.

Dr. Michael B. McCall, President and CEO of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System, will preside over the Inauguration Ceremony of Dr. Kay Adkins, ACTC’s President and CEO since last September. At ACTC, the Inauguration Ceremony is traditionally performed at the first graduation held after a new president takes office.

Dr. Akins will also give the Commencement Address. The Graduation Ceremony is free and open to the public.

Honors Night May 9

ACTC Honors Night on Thursday, May 9, will recognize students for their academic and service achievements in the 2012-2013 academic year. The public is invited to the free program at 7:00 p.m. in the Rocky Adkins Pavilion at the Technology Drive Campus.

PTK Honor Society Induction

Nine ACTC students from Grayson were inducted April 19 into the Alpha Omega Gamma Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK). They were Jennifer M. Bailey, Katrina D. Emerson, Ashley A. Godfrey, Ada D. Helton, Kathryn S. Lemaster, Johnathan Z. Mohrman, Christophe D. Oney, Laura G. Rucker and Kaitlyn D. Savage.

PTK is the international honor society of two-year colleges. Inductees must have a 3.25 grade point average, on a 4.0 scale, on at least 18 credit hours that can be applied toward an associate degree.